Work That Booty

I’ve been focusing on leg-day at the gym lately, because I used to love it but have been focused a lot on getting myself to do a pull-up lately and so have slacked off. And as a rugby addict, I need to keep my lower body strong and bulked for those days when I fall back into the game. Plus, it’s always  more fun for me to focus on a specific body part, learning about all the muscles and different exercises and stretches for ultimate bulkage/sculptage.

So, naturally, before my workout today I spent a good while looking at workout videos and tips, mostly from girls with super impressive bootys. I got some cool ideas. so here’s what I did today:

No running! It’s detrimental to run when you are trying to bulk up (esp legs?), plus I didn’t feel like running so yay!

1. Squats with bar (60 lbs) 4 x 6-8 reps  / superset with jumping lunges holding a 25 lb plate 10x each side

2. Head over to the incline leg press/sled: Turn sideways on the seat, sitting on one heel while the other leg does presses out to the side, in a froggy position. Switch sides. 4 x 6-8 each side, sled only

3. Leg curl (the lying down one) 4 x 10 at 40 lbs –focus on not using the handholds to heave your legs towards your body; really focus on squeeeezing the butt and quads together

4. Deadlift! Increase weight, starting at 35lb each side, up to 50lb (plus bar!) Do easy sets of 6 reps, setting bar down and regripping between each rep.

5. Abs: incline crunch bench with 5lbs. Matt work: Pilates Abs (all in sets of 20, small controlled motion, keep abs engaged). 10x side-to-side leg lowers (keep legs straight, lower at a right angle from torso to each side, raise to center)

Plank! (always, no matter how short!) Alternate leg raises, pulses, etc.

Thoughts?